By clicking “Accept All Cookies,” you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation and analyze site usage.

Skip to main content


November 20, 2020

Dean Eckles

Kudos to Sloan Marketing Professor Dean Eckles (pictured), IDE Director, Sinan Aral, Sloan PhD student Jeremy Yang, and University of Michigan Assistant Professor, Paramveer Dhillon, on winning this year’s Best Paper Award at the INFORMS Annual Conference in the eBusiness category.

The just-published paper, Targeting for Long-Term Outcomes: Evidence from Large-Scale Field Experiments, examines how businesses can more quickly optimize and realize revenue from targeted marketing campaigns.

Typically, all the awards are announced during the INFORMS e-Business reception event during INFORMS annual meeting. Because INFORM’s annual meeting will be held virtually this year, the honors were announced and the award sent to the winners. Each year, the section selects the best paper and two runners-up from all the submissions to the e-Business section of the INFORMS annual conference. The selection process is as follows: (1) The cluster co-chairs jointly nominate six papers out of all the submissions to the e-Business section. (2) The award committee decides the best paper and two runner-up awards from the six nominations. The award committee typically has four members – two senior judges plus the president and the treasurer of the e-Business section (Dr. Zhling Guo serves as the treasurer this year). Each senior judge has one vote, and the president and the treasurer jointly have one vote–so three votes in total to avoid a tie. This year,  Dr. Alok Gupta and Dr. D.J. Wu served as the senior judges.